My first opera… or not-opera, as the case may be

I went with my flatmate I to the opera on Friday. It wasn’t planned, and I only had fifteen minutes to get ready, so I threw on a skirt and some flats, which I sincerely hoped would make up for the fact that I had spent all night on the train from St. Petersburg and  hadn’t washed my hair.  I am not sure that the other patrons felt like my dressing efforts were up to par, as they all looked effortlessly elegant and I sort of felt like a fraud, like a little girl pretending to be cultured. Next time I will wear a scarf and some bracelets, I think that will make a much more convincing disguise.

If only the other opera partons milling around the lobby knew that not only was I under dressed but I also know absolutely nothing about the opera, I might have been removed for sheer ignorance.  Americans are not known for their devotion to high culture, and Idahoans even less, so I haven’t had a lot of exposure to such things until I came to Europe. (note to Americans: high culture is pretty interesting, we should start to care about it more).   It was only after it was over that I found out that Pasia Pagal Joną is not an opera at all, but something else entirely.  Having admitted my ignorance, I can see why people like to go to the opera or the theatre, and I am going to try to take advantage of the opportunity to do so while I am in a place with so much going on.

Back to the opera: the costuming and the set design was really minimalistic, with the differences between men and women obscured under baggy dresses (and man dresses, what would one call those?).  It was all very monochromatic, done in shades of white, black, and grey, with the odd (and oddly shocking) bit of purple.  It was done in the original German, with subtitles in Lithuanian.  I could get the occasional word from the subtitles, but all in all, I am really lucky that I went to Lutheran school, so I was able to follow the story.

Attending Pasia Pagal Joną at the Opera Theatre constituted the entirety of my Easter celebration in Lithuania, and I think it was a good celebration at that.  I would have liked to have seen a church service, but all of my Catholic roommates were out of town doing family things, and I know significantly less about attending Mass than I do about attending the opera.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

