There are more things in heaven and earth than are dreamt of in your philosophy.

Classes began today.  Which, in Lithuania, means that I went to three classes but only one of them actually happened.  I guess it would be more correct to say that I stood in the halls and talked to people today.  Since I went through this last semester, I am feeling pretty chill about the whole situation, and I am just waiting for things to fall into place on their own.  Maybe I will figure out this Eastern European mindset yet….

I got stopped on the street by some people promoting something that would “unite religion and science into the whole truth”.  They really, really wanted me to go to a seminar with them, but there is no way in hell I am going to a strange apartment with two men that I don’t know that might very well be kidney thieves or scientologists.  So I talked to them for a while… well, initially only the tall one talked and the other stood about five feet away starting at me.  I finally told them that I couldn’t go to the lecture because I was on my way to my lectures for school (lies, all lies), but got them to give me a web address.  Then I warned them that I had seen some Mormons up the street, so they might be fighting for converts and went on my merry way.

When I got home and put in the web address, I realized that it was a church that makes Scientology look like sane, reasonable people.  A quick web search about the “Unificationists” or “Moonies” revealed the following fun facts:  they believe that the world will be cleansed of Jews, that people who engage in sex outside of marriage or have same sex partnerships are “shit-eating dogs”, that women should be subservient to men, and in order to have a true marriage you have to “get cleansed”, which means you have to have sex with the person running the church THEN he gets to choose who you marry.  So pretty much they take everything that sucks about religion, package it up, and then tell you who you get to spend your life with so that you can foist it upon the offspring that are your raison d’etre as a woman.  I didn’t think that it was possible to make up a religion so offensive, and then get seemingly normal people to peddle it on the streets.  I mean, they seemed like nice fellows (other than the luring me back to their apartment thing), they were fairly well-spoken, I didn’t get more crazy vibes from them than I do from anyone else.  People are strrrange.

And then an old woman tried to give me her seat on the bus.  At first, I was just confused, then the horror began to mount as I realized that the only reason an old lady would try to give a 27 year old woman her seat is because she thought I was pregnant.  I wish I could have seen my face in the few minutes that it took for that to set in.  Just when I was starting to think maybe I look okay even though I am fat, some nice old Lithuanian lady tries to give me her seat because she thinks I have an extra human in my stomach.  Fuck.

I gave up drinking for Lent. A particularly grand night led up to that hiatus.  Details I will reveal: kissed a Mindaugas in the kitchen, kicked him out of my room, then my roomie had to kick him out of the apartment because he wouldn’t stop crawling around.  When we pieced together the available evidence, the prevailing theory is that he tried to get into bed with me and I kicked him in the balls.  So yeah, drinking is giving way to studying for the next 40 days, possibly longer if I like not having to have a meeting in the morning to figure out what shenanigans took place the night before. (pretty sure I will like that.  I won’t like the crippling social anxiety of having to socialize without a glass or two of wine/cocktails).

I am really looking forward to Paris.  I need a break from this place.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There are more things in heaven and earth than are dreamt of in your philosophy.

  1. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired!
    Extremely useful info particularly the final phase :
    ) I take care of such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

