learning Russian and buying local in Lithuania

I am watching Fringe, and in the episode that is playing a girl woke up from a coma while they were harvesting her kidney for transplantation and I swear to God I was jealous of her.  Why?  Because she woke up speaking fluent Russian.  I want to go to sleep for a couple of weeks and then wake up with a new language mysteriously implanted in my brain, it would be so much easier than spending hours per day memorizing a language and practicing fake conversations in my head.  (although I think I will take studying over the being possessed by a homicidal maniac from beyond the grave thing.  Maybe.)

We found a coffee shop that makes studying a tiny bit more palatable, because it’s awesome.  It’s called Mint Vinetu, and they specialize in “pre-loved books”.  The lady that runs it is super nice, their coffee is the same price as it is at Coffee Inn (my old favorite) and there are tons of used books for sale, even some in English.  It reminds me a lot of Tony’s back home, but with nicer furniture.  M. and I have designs on becoming regulars there, which is virtually guaranteed once I am on campus four times a week with big holes in my schedule.  I am hoping that it will remain undiscovered by the hordes of teenagers that take over Coffee Inn every afternoon, making it impossible to find a seat or have a cup of coffee in peace. I am assuming that they are there for the manufactured “atmosphere”, so old books probably won’t be a huge draw for them.  One can hope.

I have been trying really hard to buy locally whenever I can.  There are lots of options for buying locally here, although there are still shops all over the place that sell the same things that you can find all over the world.  I have only found one local grocery here, and it is less a grocery and more a cheese and baked goods shop, but the supermarkets are really good about labeling where the produce comes from.  There are tons of street vendors who sell souvenirs and other stuff (mittens!) and I find myself buying a lot of stuff from them.  There are also small shops that sell things made by local artists (like Aukso Avis where I bought my purse and pin), but they tend to be a little on the expensive side.  On the whole, it’s a lot like the options that I have in Pocatello, although I have to be much more careful here because the brands/regions/countries are not what I am used to buying from, so there is a whole different set of rules to play by.  I think it’s worth it, though, because the economy here is struggling and it’s important that at least a little of my money remains here rather than being sucked out by the richer countries who simply view it as a place to make a cheap investment.

So tomorrow I will go buy a pair of mittens from someone local and a pair of running shoes from some absurd sporty chain store and hope that the two purchases somehow even each other out….

This entry was posted in Lithuania, ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to learning Russian and buying local in Lithuania

  1. JurgaMV says:

    Thanks for kind words. We do hope to expand our English book collection. I agree, we tend to avoid trendy coffee drinkers, unless they will be reading good books 🙂

Leave a Reply

